Day 14: The beginning of the end #adventbookclub

There is much I could pick up from today’s reflection on Habakkuk 2.1-3, 3.16-19, but what struck me most was the idea of rejoicing in imperfection. Even when things seem to be as bad as they could be, when everything around him is falling apart, Habakkuk says “yet I will rejoice in the Lord, I will exult in the God of my salvation.”

Maggi’s reflection about “the lesson … not to wait for circumstances to improve before I start to celebrate life” (Beginnings and Endings page 70) struck a chord with me. I’m something of a perfectionist, and it’s a valuable lesson to learn that things don’t have to be perfect for us to rejoice in them. It made me think about my own ministry, so very far from perfect, with so much more that could be done, so much that could be done better. But in the midst of that, there is much to rejoice in. Today at Christingle, the children and adults stood in a circle around church, each face lit up by a candle in the dark, as we sang together. And it was a brief, perfect moment. I rejoice in that, and will try to hold onto it, and above all I thank God for it.

So much around me seems chaotic. There is so much more to be done than I can do. There are so many families I know who will have a miserable Christmas, and I am helpless in the face of that misery. But still the light shines in the darkness. There is so much that is imperfect, and yet I will give thanks to the Lord, I will exult in the God of my salvation.

One thought on “Day 14: The beginning of the end #adventbookclub

  1. Being a perfectionist is such a curse! We so focus on finding fault that we miss the beauty of what is there. Glad you could rejoice with the christingles today. Hope you find more perfect moments, and may they be more than brief.

Leave a Reply

